Potato Leek Soup

If you know me, this is a very strange recipe to start my blog off with. I don’t like potatoes. But this is what I have in my fridge right now, and it fits my theme of recipes that can be made in a small kitchen with few pots,pans or appliances.

3 Russet potatoes, peeled and cubed
2 Leeks white part only, washed and sliced
6 Cups chicken broth
2tsp Salt
1/2 Cup half-n-half
1 Tablespoon sherry (optional)

In a large pot combine: potatoes, leeks, chicken broth and salt. Bring to a boil, then reduce to a simmer. Simmer until the potatoes are tender. Remove from heat, and stir in the half-n-half. Puree the soup in batches in a blender or food processor until smooth. Pour the smooth soup back into the large pot. Heat over low until hot, add the sherry (if using) and add salt to taste.

Serves 4Potato leek soup

5 thoughts on “Potato Leek Soup

  1. Awesome idea Lori, although judging from your photo, that has to be a mighty large bowl in order for that to serve 4. Makes me question the real size of your kitchen when you’re able to use giant bowls.

  2. I’ve tried this soup and it was very tasty! It had excellent full flavor and was very smooth in consistency. Since Sam doesn’t like potatoes either, I’ll have to make it for myself for lunch.

  3. Is it just coincidence that Julia Child’s book Mastering the Art of French Cooking also starts with Potato Leek soup? I like your recipe better because it uses broth rather than water and you don’t have me running anything through a food mill. Great recipe Lorelei!

Leave a Reply

