Lemon Buttermilk Ice

I love homemade ice cream but I don’t have an ice cream maker, yet. So I use the method described below when I want an ice cream like treat. It isn’t as smooth as ice cream, a little grainier or icier actually, but the flavor is great! The only real draw back is that this method requires you to be home for about 4-5 hours.

Lemon Buttermilk Ice

Lemon Buttermilk Ice

I’ve recently made a coconut-lime ice that was fantastic! I’ll post a recipe when I have the exact amounts.

2  Cups sugar
1/2 Cup fresh lemon juice (about 3 lemons-use a little OJ if you are short)
2 Tablespoons lemon zest
4 Cups Buttermilk

Stir all the ingredients together until the sugar dissolves, about 3 minutes. Pour into a shallow pan and place in the freezer. Stir the mixture every 15-20 minutes until it sets up and freezes, about 4-5 hours. The more often the mixture is stirred the smoother the consistency will be.

Serves 6

2 thoughts on “Lemon Buttermilk Ice

  1. I just made this in my ice cream maker and it worked great! I mixed up the ingredients and let them churn in the ice cream maker for about 25 minutes. It tastes like a richer version of lemon sherbet. It’s very refreshing and has an excellent sweet taste!

Leave a Reply

