Roasted Salmon and Savory Yogurt

Yesterday I was looking through Martha Stewart’s Everyday Food magazine and found a recipe that looked beautiful and sounded interesting. Since I didn’t want to go to the store, I changed the ingredients so I could use what I already had in my fridge. It was amazing! So amazing that I couldn’t stop eating to take a picture. If any of you make this, please take a picture and send it to me so I can add it to this post.

2Lbs Salmon, skinless and cut into 4 pieces
1 C Seasoned yogurt cheese*
2 teaspoons olive oil

Preheat oven to 350 degrees. Lay the fish on a lightly oiled oven safe dish. Stir together the seasoned yogurt cheese and oil. Evenly spread 1/4C of the yogurt mixture on each piece of fish. Place the pan in the oven and bake until the fish is cooked through, about 20-25 minutes.

Serves 4

*I know that you can buy a chive-cilantro yogurt cheese at Trader Joe’s that is fantastic-other grocery stores may have something similar. Or you can season the cheese to your liking by buying plain yogurt cheese (sometimes called Greek Yogurt cheese). Here is what I did-season 1C yogurt cheese with 2 scallions finely chopped, the zest of 1 lemon and 1/2 tsp salt.
If you can’t find yogurt cheese you can make your own very easily. Line a sieve with cheesecloth or coffee filters and add 1 1/4 Cup plain yogurt (non-fat, regular fat, extra fat will all work). Place the sieve over a bowl and put into the fridge for at least 3 hours, or until 1/4C of whey seeps out.

One thought on “Roasted Salmon and Savory Yogurt

  1. I’m heading to Trader Joe’s immediately….this sounds wonderful! The blog is a Wonderful idea! Hope all is well in Seattle!
    Tammy

Leave a Reply

