Gougeres

One of the best things about this recipe, beside the taste, is that it uses ingredients that I almost always have in the fridge. If you have ever made pate a choux dough (the dough used to make eclairs and profiteroles) you will recognize this technique. If you haven’t please don’t be intimidated! It may sound strange and it may look a little strange at times, but once you are actually in the process of making the dough it’s really easy.
Gougere

Usually I serve this with a large salad for dinner for 2. I make this into a ring because it’s easy, but you could also make the dough into small individual bite size pieces for a great appetizer.

1/2 C Water
1/4 C Unsalted butter
1 tsp Salt
1/2 C Flour
2 Eggs
1/2 Cup of Cheese*, cubed

Preheat oven to 350 and lightly grease a cookie sheet or oven safe pan. Bring the water, butter and salt to a boil in a small sauce pan. When the mixture is boiling dump in all of the flour. Quickly begin to stir with a wooden spoon until the dough cleans the sides of the pan. Turn the heat off and continue to stir for 1 minute. Let this mixture cool for 4-5 minutes. Add 1 egg and stir until it is fully incorporated into the dough (it will look a little strange at first). Add the second egg in the same way. Stir in the cheese. Use the wooden spoon to drop small spoon-fulls onto the greased pan in the shape of a 6 inch wreath. Bake in the oven until golden brown, about 45 minutes. Serve immediately.

* I normally use cheddar cheese, but blue cheese works well. I bet feta or Parmesan would be great too.
Dinner

(I feel like I should apologize to all the Frenchies out there, I can’t remember how to add accents onto letters-sorry for the misspelling of the French words!)

2 thoughts on “Gougeres

  1. Hi Lori!
    I’ve been thinking about Gougeres and have been wanting to make them for a while. I just didn’t have a good recipe! So, thanks for posting. If I wanted to make little individual ones, how long should I bake them for?

    I hope all is well in Seattle!

Leave a Reply

