Yeasted Waffles

Yeasted wafflesI recognize that this recipe doesn’t quite fit into my tiny kitchen definition, because you need a waffle iron, but it only uses one bowl and it tastes amazing! They are light and crisp with a slight yeasty flavor. Another fantastic thing about this recipe is that you make the batter the night before; I love that I don’t have to measure, mix and read right when I get into the kitchen. With my waffle iron I can get 14 8in waffles out of this recipe so I usually have leftovers that I freeze, and when I want to eat them I just pop them in the toaster.

The recipe is from The Breakfast Book by Marion Cunningham. The only modification I made to the recipe was to add a little extra salt.

1 Package yeast
1/2 Cup warm water

2 Cups warm milk
1/2 Cup melted butter
1 teaspoon salt
1 teaspoon sugar
2 Cups flour

2 Eggs
1/4 teaspoon baking soda
1/4 teaspoon salt

Dissolve the yeast in the water in a large bowl. Let it sit for 5 minutes. Stir in the milk, butter, salt, sugar and flour. Cover and let it sit on the counter overnight, at least 8 hours.

Just before making the waffles whisk in the eggs, baking soda and salt. Depending on the size of your waffle iron, pour 1/2-3/4 cup of the batter into a hot waffle iron.

Leave a Reply

