Breakfast for Dinner: Poached Eggs

Poached eggs for dinner is not only a fast and easy meal, but it’s also cheap and filling. And their are endless ways of eating poached eggs. My favorite right now is to place a layer of tortilla chips on a plate and cover that with spinach. Place 2 poached eggs on top of the spinach and smother in warm salsa verde or a green chili sauce and a sprinkle of cheese.

Fill a small sauce pan with 2 inches of water, bring to a simmer and add 1 T of white vinegar (red will work but it will tint the eggs whites). Carefully place a cracked egg into the simmering water. Cook it to the desired doneness. Lift out with a slotted spoon.

-Poached egg salad: Toss bitter greens (arugula, frisee, spinach etc) with an acidic vinaigrette and place a poached egg on top. Add cooked bacon, tomatoes, croutons, or other vegetables.

-Serve a poached egg over garlic roasted vegetables with a baguette

3 thoughts on “Breakfast for Dinner: Poached Eggs

  1. Hey…

    Rita sent me the link to your blog. It’s so great… been perusing it for an hour on this lovely Sunday morning. Can’t wait to make the sauerkraut.

    I “discovered” this salad when I was in France (seems like the’ll drop a loosely poached egg on damn near anything) and the runny yoke mixing into the dressing is divine.

    The funny part is the first time I had it, I’d gotten a quick salad from a grocery store. Through the plastic cover, the egg looked like a mound of goat cheese so I was surprised when it wasn’t. It’s been a bkfst fave ever since.

  2. My rule of thumb for cooking “poachies” {as we are fond of calling them} is to get the eggies in the water. Then put in the toast. They cook until the toast pops up.

    Then I just use the spoon to splash some hot water over the yolk if the top isn’t “done.” I have neurotic people who want the top of the freaking egg to look done.

    THEN I have to drain the slotted spoon on a paper towel to get rid of excess water.

    Sheesh. It can be an ordeal, but the end result is YUMMY.

  3. Yeah. It took me awhile to get the eggs down to a science. I always add white vinegar to the water and turn it to low as soon as it boils. Brent turns the water off as soon as he slips them in (we use a shallow bowl). I let ’em simmer for 2 mins so I’m sure they’ll stay runny. And I do the same thing you so w/ the excess water.

Leave a Reply

