Steel-cut Oatmeal with Dried Fruit and Cream

Steel Cut OatsFew things beat warm steel-cut oatmeal on a cold morning. Not only is it hearty, filling and delicious, it’s also healthy. Normally I don’t have time in the morning to wait 30-45 minutes for oatmeal to cook, but with this recipe I can wake up and breakfast is warm and waiting for me.

This recipe makes quite a bit, but it keeps wonderfully in the fridge for about a week. Trader Joe’s sells cooked steel-cut oats that are frozen in individual portions; I haven’t tried it but I bet that would work with this recipe too. If you try it let me know how it turns out!

1 1/2C Steel cut oats
6C water
3/4C Half and half
3T Brown sugar
1C Dried fruit (I like using a mixture of dried cranberries and golden raisins)
1tsp Cinnamon or pumpkin pie spice
3/4 tsp salt
Butter for greasing the crock

Butter the container for the slow cooker. Add all of the ingredients and give a gentle stir. Turn the slow cooker on to warm, cover and cook overnight.

If your slow-cooker doesn’t have a warm setting you might want to place a clean tuna can under the crock so it is above the heating element and set it tocook at low.

4 thoughts on “Steel-cut Oatmeal with Dried Fruit and Cream

  1. I loved this recipe Lorelei. I substituted non-dairy butter and soy cream for the dairy parts of your original – the flavor and texture were still delicious. I’ll definitely make this again, next time with blueberries.

Leave a Reply

