Chimmichurri Sauce

I made dinner for some friends last night who are gluten-free, dairy-free, vinegar-free, sugar and fruit-free. At first I was a little scared I’d only be able to serve them plain brown rice and vegetables. Then the more I thought about it I realized that South American food would easily meet all their dietary needs and all of my flavor needs. So we had grilled flank steak, roasted sweet potatoes, grilled peppers and chimmichurri sauce to serve over all of it. I also stirred this into some plain Greek yogurt for a great crudite dip!

1/2 Bunch of cilantro

1/2 Bunch of parsely

5 Cloves of garlic, peeled

1/2C Olive oil

1tsp Dried oregano

1tsp Dried thyme

pinch of red chili flakes

salt and pepper to taste

Puree the ingredients into a smooth paste. I like mine pretty thick,but you can thin it out with more oil, a little water or a dash or two of red wine vinegar. This is an intense sauce; a little bit goes a long way. It also freezes very well.

3 thoughts on “Chimmichurri Sauce

  1. interesting… was that a by choice diet or something out of their control. I can understand gluten, dairy etc… but vinegar sugar and fruit are interesting. I’ve been thinking lately how much i love vinegar.

  2. A few years ago, the Christmas food theme was Argentina. I did research and found a chimmichurri recipe like the one above, but chopped instead of pureed, fresh parsley, and all other herbs dry. It was a huge hit, and was used on pretty much every dish as well as passed around the table. You are right…it packs a punch and a little goes a long way. But it is now my favorite meat marinade. I end up making it everytime I have left over parsley becuase it is so easy and so good.

Leave a Reply

