Quick Pickled Persimmons

Yesterday I went to the store specifically to buy a red onion so I could pickle a few slices and put it on a roasted pork and blue cheese sandwich. After returning from the store I realized that the cashier put everything except the onion in my bag! That’s when I looked around the kitchen and saw the fuyu persimmon and decided to use that instead. I thinly sliced half the persimmon and tossed it in a bowl with a generous pour of red wine vinegar and a pinch of salt and set it aside for 30 minutes.

They were fantastic on the sandwich; juicy, sweet, vinegary and tart. I think they’d also be a good addition to a cheese plate or relish tray.
After I had eaten I was kinda glad of the cashier’s mistake.

One thought on “Quick Pickled Persimmons

Leave a Reply

