Savory French Toast with Red Pepper-Tomato Maple Syrup

Savory French ToastIn my house we always seem to have half a loaf of partially stale French bread laying around. I can only save so much for bread crumbs and since I was sorta in the mood for breakfast for dinner but didn’t really want something super sweet I came up with this.

Since having the baby cooking has become a little more challenging in that I don’t have as much time, or the use of both hands while cooking. So I’ve started developing one-handed recipes. These are very forgiving recipes where if you have time to measure ingredients great! But if not, just eyeball it and everything will work out. A dash of this, a sprinkle of that and dinner will still taste wonderful.

6-7 Slices French bread, slightly stale
3 Eggs
3/4 C Milk
1tsp Mustard, dry ground or prepared
1tsp Favorite herb (thyme, oregano, marjoram etc.)
1/2 tsp each of Salt and Pepper
Dash of Cayenne pepper

Arrange bread slices in a single layer in a dish, 9×13 pan works well. Whisk the remaining ingredients together and pour over bread. Let it sit for at least an hour and upto overnight.

1 Tomato, diced*
1/4 C Red pepper diced**
1C Real Maple Syrup
1/4tsp Pepper

Put everything in a small pan and simmer for 15 minutes, or until the peppers are soft.

Heat a large skillet on medium heat, add a little oil/butter. Place the soaking bread in the hot pan, turn over when the first side is golden brown. When the second side is golden brown transfer to a plate and serve with the warm syrup.

( I didn’t have and arugula or spinach in my fridge last night, but I bet the bitterness of the greens would be a nice foil to the sweetness of the syrup. So if you feel like trying it, serve this dish on a bed of greens. If you do try it, please let me know how it is!)

Serves: 2

*I used a fresh tomato, but I bet canned diced tomato would taste just as good, maybe better depending on the season and your location
** yellow, red or orange peppers can be used for this recipe. I’ve seen frozen bags of grilled sliced peppers that I think would taste fantastic here. Or frozen corn would be a good alternative too.

2 thoughts on “Savory French Toast with Red Pepper-Tomato Maple Syrup

  1. Pingback: Savory French Toast with Tomato-Avocado-Basil Maple Syrup | Lorelei's Tiny Kitchen

Leave a Reply

