Quick Lentil Soup

In preparation for our big move, I’ve started to clean out the fridge. Perhaps it’s a bit hasty since we are here in Seattle for about 6 more weeks, but I’m getting excited! In the fridge I found a package of Trader Joe’s cooked lentils and a half eaten container of red pepper hummus, these got me thinking about my favorite curried lentil soup recipe by Molly Wizenberg. She adds pureed chick peas to the cooked lentil mixture right before serving, it’s a fantastic soup, I’ve included a link at the bottom of this post. So using her recipe as inspiration I made a quick lunch.

2C Cooked lentils

1/2C Hummus  (I used a red pepper hummus, but I bet most flavors would work well)

1 1/2 -2C Vegetable broth

In a small sauce pan over medium heat, stir together lentils, hummus and 1 1/2 C vegetable broth. Add more broth if you like a thinner soup. Season with pepper.

Optional: serve with lemon wedges and pita bread or chips.

Serves 2-3

http://www.bonappetit.com/recipes/2010/12/curried_lentil_soup

Leave a Reply

